The 7 Chakras of Yoga and their meaning

The whole practice of yoga and many other similar disciplines is based on the seven chakras, the energy
centers that affect a lot more than we can imagine on our lives.
In fact, a specific health problem may be caused by an imbalance of one or more chakras and working
on it with the appropriate techniques can solve many problems. But what are these chakras, where they
are, what are their characteristics, what if you do not work as they should? These are questions that a
yoga practitioner has done, is doing, or most likely will in the future and it is important that you
What are Chakras?
The chakras are a concept belonging to Indian traditions such as yoga and ayurveda which still comes
from the tantric tradition.
The word chakra in Sanskrit means wheel, circle or vortex and is considered the energy centers that
serve to absorb the life energy (prana), distribute the individual (in body, mind and spirit) and release it
to the outside.
Sometimes they are also called Padma, meaning lotus, in fact each is represented by a lotus flower with
different petals. These real energy vortexes are the connection between the mind, body and spirit
significantly affecting our emotions, how to behave, learning, communication and many other aspects.
These centers can be open or closed and this greatly affects our lives. If a chakra is balanced the energy
is able to slide freely in that area, but if it is closed energy is not able to circulate. And ‘when a chakra is
blocked then this can lead to imbalances that manifest themselves mentally, physically, emotionally or
in multiple ways.
For this reason it is important that they work well and that you have no imbalances in these centers.
The chakras are 7 and each is associated with an element.
They are arranged along an evolutionary hierarchy of human needs, beginning with survival instincts and
evolving into spiritual transformation. But along the way we meet other needs such as procreation,
socialization, ‘altruism, communication and intuition.
Physically instead chakras correspond to:
 nerve ganglia
 where there is a high degree of nervous activity
 glands of the endocrine system
As mentioned previously the chakras are also called “Padma”, lotus, because their symbol is the lotus
flowers, and just like the flowers have petals that can be opened, closed or be in an intermediate state.

Since the chakras govern not only physical aspects but also emotional and behavioral, when a chakra is
out of balance affects their lives. If a chakra is closed, blocked or otherwise, is not able to receive and
retransmit energy while if it is too open works excessively. If for example a person is unbalanced in
terms of the second chakra, which also regulates the relationship with the opposite sex, you can have
many partners if the chakra is too open, or may have difficulty maintaining a relationship only if it is the
second chakra closed or locked.
Also, consider that the chakras are not working as separate entities but they are all connected, in fact,
an imbalance of a chakra most likely also affects others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *